RSS

Neuro & Healing…

03 Nov

Our last Friday on the farm Miss Sarah invited the girls and I over for a sleepover.  I could do my neuro treatment while we watched a movie after the girls went down. (The movie was Amazing Grace – about the abolishment of slavery in Britain…AMAZING story!)  Then on Saturday after the girls woke up we would do their Brain Maps so that we could evaluate the improvement over the last 10 days of treatment.

The girls did great, sitting still and being patient while Sarah was moving tabs all over their heads and getting readings…Sarah is so patient and efficient..that girl amazes me!  Everyone needs some Miss Sarah in their life!

After she was done reading and comparing the maps, she looks at me w/ her hands flopped down on her legs…I could not tell if this was good or not.

With glassy eyes she looks at me and says, “They are doing amazing!  Their brains have made TONS of progress!  Its incredible!”  (Keep in mind, Bell and Ollie are the youngest they have done neuro with and even Dr. Thurber prepared Miss Sarah and Pam that it would be more likely than not to see minimal, if any, progress and it was possible they might not even get accurate readings, let alone see major progress!)

Of course, a nice flow of steady tears stream down my face and I can’t even seem to get questions out.  (you know its a lot to process when I can’t even respond…I always have something to say!)  Finally, I start asking questions and this is what it boils down too;

The girls have progressed so much! The areas of the brain that were overwhelmed w/ trauma, anxiety, stress and depression are now showing MINIMAL signs of those same emotions and feelings!!!  Minimal to the point where we don’t even need follow up the treatment at home b/c their brains have responded so well!!!  (if their behavior, sleeping patterns, & ability to calm down shift, then we will re-evaluate)

At this point, BOTH GIRLS are consistently sleeping through the night, able to calm down and self-regulate, (like typical 2 year olds…not going into 1-3 hour meltdowns on a regular basis!) and I was affirmed from both Miss Sarah and Pam that the twins are ATTACHED to me…their MOM!  (Packing paid off!)  They have joy like I have not seen in them before!  Their eyes are softer!  They respond to correction and boundaries w/o melting into a rage of anger or fear.  They laugh lots more!  They interact w/ each other, their siblings, Jeff and me with ease and comfort.  I am MADLY in love with them!!!

An amazing God who heals, an incredible team that loves and reaches out to hurting children and families, loads of support and prayers, willingness to leave my (recovering from surgery) husband w/ our 2 oldest children to pursue help and tools for the twins = HEALING!!!

Notice, healing…not healed…  We are on a journey of healing.  Not just Bell and Ollie, not just the Browns…all of us!  There is no way we can be completely healed until we reach heaven!  In the meantime, for the Brown Sound…we have made TONS of progress!!!

I am grateful beyond words for Pam, Lonny, Sarah, our home team, neighbors, church body and family that have gathered around us, held us up, encouraged us, prayed for us, cooked and cleaned for us, given of their time and expertise, opened up their homes, sacrificed for us and walked with us down this road toward healing and becoming a healthy family!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 3, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “Neuro & Healing…

  1. kate

    November 3, 2013 at 10:01 am

    Kara, I am SO happy for you all. I would love to hear more and see you soon.

     
  2. Lorie Erickson Neighbors

    November 3, 2013 at 2:10 pm

    Oh, Kara, this is just astounding. And all new to me. Fascinating. So happy for Bell & Ollie, for everything! We should never discount God’s working through medical professionals who are trained to help people. Some folks believe all you need is prayer. I say God answers our prayer by giving us people to help.

     
  3. Rachel PIppin

    November 3, 2013 at 11:10 pm

    You are amazing 🙂

     
  4. erikwithakwilliams

    November 4, 2013 at 4:35 pm

    So thankful to God for this. Praying for you regularly!

     
  5. Julie

    November 7, 2013 at 10:53 pm

    AWESOME! Words cannot express how amazing this all is and how thankful I am for God’s hand in all this and how you continue to follow his lead in this difficult yet rewarding journey.
    I continue to pray for you all!

     
  6. Susan Moerer

    November 16, 2013 at 6:29 pm

    I am the sister-in-law of Ronda Pierce. My son is going to a charter school that is offering EEG therapy, but I am not sure how skilled the technician is. Can you send me the information about the ranch? I have 2 biological children with behavioral issues. Thank you, Susan Moerer

     

Leave a Reply

 
