RSS

#farmlife

25 Oct

Living on a farm has always been a life that appeals to me…

My friend Beth Thomas from K-3rd grade had a horse, lived on a farm and I pretty much wanted to be just like her…including her really long straight hair! (for the record when you are little, curly hair isn’t cool)  I even got my parents to get me horse lessons so that I could learn to ride, so when I went to Beth’s house her dad would let me ride…instead of just watch!  (always safety first!)

We had a goat, a few bunnies, a great dane (close to a pony!) and lived next to a pasture full of cows…kind of a farm…right?

The last week and a half on the farm have been healing for so many reasons…

Walking this road of healing together...so proud of them!

Walking this road of healing together…so proud of my cowgirls!

The scenery is beautiful and breath-taking…

The house at the back of the property where Miss Sarah lives

The house at the back of the property where Miss Sarah lives

The view on our morning walk to Miss Sarah's for Neuro.

The view on our morning walk to Miss Sarah’s for Neuro.

The animals leave an adventure to be experienced everyday…

Ollie lovin' on Henny w/ the help of Miss Josie!  Thanks for sharing your horsey, Jocelyn!

Ollie lovin’ on Henny w/ the help of Miss Josie! Thanks for sharing your horsey, Jocelyn!

Boo telling me all about the chickens...she likes to be on the outside of the fence and just look at them.  (Ollie tries to catch them...lol)

Boo telling me all about the chickens…she likes to be on the outside of the fence and just look at them. (Ollie tries to catch them…lol)

The Clifner Clan is one of the most BEAUTIFULMESS families I have ever done life with!

They have 2 biological kids and 6 adopted kids…each with their own story of redemption that breaks your heart and makes you wonder, “where was God when all this was happening to these innocent, helpless and amazing children?”  (then I remember God gave us free will…dang it…it’s not HIS fault…some people make dumb choices)

A mission’s trip to Guatemala opened Pam’s heart to taking care of the orphans in her local community. She watched the people in Guatemala love and take care of orphans with passion and calling.  She and Lonny started expanding their family… and not just through adoption. There is a constant flow of teens, young adults and grown ups coming here to get loved on and be apart of the family the Clifners have created.

They both feel a responsibility to share with other families what they have learned through their journey of adoption and healing their own children’s brains and hearts!  Their knowledge of the foster care system, adoption (domestic and international) and the way they have absorbed medical knowledge…its just amazing all the things they know.

I walk around w/ my spiral notebook, asking questions, taking notes and trying to sound out words she says that I have never heard of before!  (this is when I really wish Jeff was here…that man is a sponge for knowledge!)

We were welcomed w/ open arms and feel like part of the family.  We have received love and care far beyond what I anticipated we would get during our time here!  You would think with this many people (3 adults and 10 kids, 4 of which are 2 and younger) under one roof it would be chaotic…in all honesty, I was thinking it would be quite overwhelming…it has turned out to be a place of healing, refreshment, restoration, affirmation, encouragement, laughter, tears, solitude, community and it is evident that the presence of God is in this place!

Not today…maybe someday…#farmlife will be my normal…until then, the Clifner Farm is my farm away from home.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 25, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “#farmlife

  1. Lonny Clifner

    October 25, 2013 at 9:17 pm

    I know how hard you worked on this blog so I wanted to take the time to read it. Glad that i did, thanks for the warm words! Your feisty bro:-)

     

Leave a Reply

 
